Words.

Words I Love

Serendipity

This word was coined by Horace Walpole from an ancient Persian fairytale, “The Three Princes of Serendip”. Serendib was an ancient Arabian name for Sri Lanka, meaning the “dwelling-place-of-lions” island.

It means good fortune; luck or an aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident.

Sumptuous

I especially like it when used to describe a woman. It promotes images of soft skin, gentle curves and what I like to call “a real woman.”

It literally means luxuriously fine or large; lavish; splendid.

Passion

I like it because it adds intensity to any emotion, positive of negative. Passionate love, passionate hate, Passion invokes a strong feeling in the very center of me.

It means any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling

Cerulean

Blue is my favorite color, but blue is so overused and sometimes its not enough to describe the blue of the sky or the ocean. The vast expanse of blue and the endless quality of both the sky and the sea are embodied for me in this word.

Literal meanings are deep blue; sky blue; azure.

Sunshine

The dictionary definitions of it illustrate why I love it.

The shining of the sun; direct light of the sun; brightness or radiance; cheerfulness or happiness; a source of cheer or happiness; the effect of the sun in lighting and heating a place; a place where the direct rays of the sun fall.

Word I hate

Cunt

It’s vulgar, disrespectful and just unpleasant to say or hear. Bitch is ambivalent now; I use it often as a term of endearment with my girlfriends. I often like to say “Being a bitch is less a characteristic and more an inheritance in my matriarchal family.” But the C-word, if ever uttered has a particularly negative connotation.

Ex-girlfriend

Since my older cousins hit the teenage years (when I was about 10) the word “ex-girlfriend” (more so than ex-boyfriend) has always, ALWAYS meant bad news. I feel girls move on and put themselves back together much faster than boys. I’ve always been closer to my male cousins, and they confide in me often. Then I always had guy friends, a concept unheard of in the rural town I lived in Sri Lanka. So I often had to deal with mean and malicious ex-girlfriends.

Weak

It’s the opposite of strong. It frustrates me to be weak, or to hear other people say they are weak. I like to face all my problems (and other people’s problems).

Grope

It’s gross, and infuriating.

Discharge

Only has a negative connotation.  There is nothing positive about a discharge. Even being discharged from a hospital means you were sick enough to be in the hospital to begin with.

Funny Words (I also love)


Malarkey-nonsense

Gobbledygook– nonsense

Discombobulate– confuse

Nincompoop– fool

Kerfuffle– fuss, commotion

Shenanigans– mischievous activities

Oopsy-daisy

Catawampus- askew or disarray

Mollycoddle- pamper

Snorkel

Snarky- intersection of sarcasm and cynicism

Indubitably-unquestionably

Thing-a-ma-bob

Hiney also bum, Tookus

Shag

Snog

Flabbergast

Etc… et

One thought on “Words.

Leave a Reply

